Threesome

Warning: spoilers for Hannibal S3 finale, some gory bits, excess of caps – sorry i couldn’t stop myself.

keychest

You can imagine this to be whatever you like 🙂

Feeling a bit melancholic today.

It’s reporting week and that just makes me sooo tired every month. The reason I never wanted a job in Finance after trying it out once was the endless cycle of month end reports and stats and such. And guess what I have ended up doing? Yup. Though it could be worse, it could actually be monthly accounts, but it’s not, it’s just some other sort of monthly statistics. Still, it involves endless staring at and manipulating of figures and communicating to a long list of people who all expect error free reports. I wouldn’t mind it as much if it didn’t suck the life out of any writing impulse I have while it happens. I get home and I just can’t even look at the pc anymore and I just want some mind-numbing activity that doesn’t involve brain cells.

Which is why I have been struggling a lot with writing about the Hannibal finale. But since i fell into bed last night when I finally got home and then woke up at 4,30 in the morning I made myself  breakfast and then sat there with my tea and watched it for a second time in peace and quiet. And chomped quite happily on Cheshire cheese and plum tomatoes and then wholegrain toast and chocolate peanut-butter all throughout. And felt pretty similar about it as the first time I watched it…

You might think this is not how you’d like to start the day, watching blood and gore, but that is actually not what comes to mind first when I think about it. I found it relaxing in a strange way. Well, engaging is probably the more appropriate word. And stimulating visually and also mentally. It is anything but boring and interesting in so many ways. I realised watching the last episode that I will really miss it. There is precious little on TV which is really original and interesting these days. It is mostly one detective story after another and few are really good. I can count the ones I enjoyed last season on the fingers of one hand +1: Banished (BBC), Poldark (BBC), Fortitude (Sky), Our Girl (BBC), Blacklist (NBC via sky) and… Hannibal. There’s been others, but nothing particularly well done or just seasons which have been nowhere as good as the previous ones. There are probably others but there’s only so much TV one can watch 😉

Basically, even if parts of season 3 I was wondering ‘where they are going with all this’? and ‘what’s the point?’, I was still interested and enjoyed spending 1h a week with H. Last week I felt as if it had nowhere to go but end.  I still can’t imagine where it could go from here, but my imagination is a bit at a loss in this universe 🙂 Which is why I enjoyed the viewing experience I am sure, as it was less predictable than most other stuff I watched. I didn’t experience the rush to watch very often, it was more looking forward to siting down in peace and unrushed and seeing where it takes me and how I react to it.

I’m not a convert to the horror genre, I have to say. And I don’t think that was typical horror fare anyway. I still don’t enjoy being scared and most of the times this was not that kind of terror, it was mostly dissection after the fact or justification of upcoming deeds. We didn’t have many victims actually being chased around and I’m ok with that. To be fair, I was also much less put off by the gore than I thought I would be. On one hand I’ve watched crime drama all my life and on the other hand I have probably seen more blood and death on the opera stage than I have seen in 3 seasons of Hannibal put together. Opera is certainly not lacking in death, blood and crazies 😉 It’s all alternative realities and stories and they don’t pursue me in my dreams or make me question the way I lead my life and my universe has nothing in common with the various fantastical ones. So I’m sort of ok with watching quite bizzare and disturbing things, it seems more so than I thought, because it just isn’t reality.

I found dead bodies much less disgusting than other strange things, like Reba’s soup or Verger dying by swallowing a fish and things like that. Very puzzling what one finds icky, it is not always what your mind tells you it will be. I was grateful in season 3 for the lack of cooking of body parts! I like my food and in season 2 I really struggled with that. It is all just too revolting to me, even in fantasy land, which is why I never really warmed to Hannibal himself. Through absolutely no fault of Mads’ 🙂 I blame it on the food stylist! 😀

Strangely enough I even sort of reconciled myself with H in season 3, in that there were quite a few times when I actually felt sorry for him. Not that many though 😉

It is true that one big draw in the series were the actors. I didn’t know all that much about them, nor had I seen them a lot before, apart from Esperanza, Fishburne and Anderson of course and the other Brit ;-).

I’ve often battled with some holes in the logic, but at the same time what I liked best was that the characters had not much logic to them. You never knew what they were going to do or say next.

It has irritated me greatly at times, especially when the censorship reared its ugly head to high (that Botticelli!) or the women were just below par as characters. And I don’t think that really changed until the end… Alana just got more and more on my nerves and in the end Bedelia just got too fuzzy for my liking.

But oh the visuals… and the camera work… and the soundtrack… what a feast for eyes and ears! I will miss this tremendously. It has changed the way I view things forever I think. The lighting was original, even though on the dark side sometimes. The editing was flawless and the camera angles drool-worthy. There were fewer straight on head shots than you normally see on TV and instead you saw people through reflections, side angles, profiles and discovered the infinite variety of facets in human faces. And the close ups…. Oh, those amazing close ups! Visually it never once got boring and it has made usual TV where you pan from one character to another during a dialogue so old-fashioned. I think in some of these respects they have re-invented the ways in which a story can be told on screen and the depth you can lend to the image without going 3D and such. And for a horror show, where everything is OTT most of the time they went the other way, especially on the acting. It’s extremely subtle and underplayed, there are no grand gestures, no waving about of arms, no raising of voices. It is where having good actors made all the difference and allowed the visual innovation.

The writing was at times brilliant and funny and at times just self-indulgent and outlandish. But I thought the acting almost always delivered and made even the most outlandish phrases seem almost natural in the context. Most of the times I really got the black humour. Sometimes it was a bit too obvious, but it had an increasing insider feel which was a whole lot of fun in itself. Especially the 3rd series felt at times like fan-fiction almost 🙂 Which Fuller has also admitted in a way. I wonder if writing the series so much for fans is the best idea. I am undecided, as there is a great pleasure to be had from seeing your wishes come true on screen 😉 And that I am sure was certainly true in series 3 for the fans of the series. I would probably normally advocate for exactly the opposite: keep them guessing, keep them wanting and keep them watching 🙂 But when the possibility of the end draws nearer I think it is the right time to give the fans a bit of what they have wanted all along. I think the series finale certainly did that.

I have moved past all the arguments about the glamourisation of the criminal universe Hannibal lives in. The books have been out there for a while, serial killers are not new to TV. Not all creative ideas are fuzzy, comfortable, some are twisted, disturbing. I don’t think it is for everyone but I also don’t think it is something that shouldn’t be. With the right disclaimers it can certainly be enjoyed 🙂 And not taken too seriously as it is not meant to be in any way even a slight depiction of reality. Just like we accept the fictional universe in say Star Trek, or Game of Thrones or some superhero movie, we can accept this one too. I found myself to be a bit hypocritical being negative about the theme of it but at the same time enjoying watching it. I still maintain some of my critical points (see above) but I don’t have a problem with the universe itself as a fictional set up.

I am glad there is something different in the Tv panorama of today, it is always good to have innovation and change and Hannibal is a great part of a trend of increased quality on the small screen. In fact over the last years I’ve seen more interesting things on TV than in the cinema and certainly better written and better made.

So yes, I will miss it, TV will be much duller without it.

What about the finale? I had to watch it twice before expressing what I felt about it, to double check.  And the first word that comes to mind is still… romantic 🙂 And in a totally fanfic  kind of way to add to that. I would almost argue they went a bit too far with it as I had to giggle and smile more than once and it overrode the abundance of blood, fleshy parts and dead bodies by a mile!

They still played games, they like it too much, but I think ultimately they created a fitting end for the fans. In case we thought we managed to outplay them last time by looking away at the right times from lip-snagging and barbecuing they made sure they cheekily re-inserted the relevant highlights in the places where you just didn’t have time to look away. So there I was slapping my palm over my eyes and ewww-ing at the TV again. I guess with Hannibal still in prison for most of the ep and Dolarhyde doing most damage with a gun, so low on gore, they wanted to make that last point.

cantwatchburn

‘I can’t stand to watch you burn’… oh that face of suffering… sniff, sniifff..

Afraid it didn’t distract me quite enough not to notice, like I did in the last ep already, that they got Chilton’s teeth wrong. Whatever happened to him, his teeth could not have changed and the lower mandible closes in most cases below the upper range of teeth. Ie the teeth overlap, they never close edge on edge the way he was shown. The devil really is in the detail 😀

Regardless of wrong teeth I was still happy Chilton survived (and how just like Hannibal to wish him not to be too ugly 😉 ).

The episodes proceeded to get rid step by step of all but the 3 male leads.

rejectedyou

Goodbye Hannibal… i rejected you (yeah, right….)

First on was poor Reba. I am impressed considering they had to integrated the Dolarhyde story into the overall series how much of the book material they covered and actually how faithfully. Thankfully Francis managed not to kill her, but the experience was utterly scary. All the ordering around and the fire 😦  There were flashes of Francis regretting the outcome and losing her because she ‘felt good’ but sadly, even he realises it is all over for him. Maybe I am just hanging on to some little positive thing, but I believe he showed her clearly where the key was and made sure she knew the way to the door and back not just to keep her under his control and deceive her about his death but at least subconsciously to also make sure she could make it out of there. And whether he is dead or not, their relationship could not go on 😦 😦 😦 I could barely stand it to hear the sounds of anguish when he flicked the match to the floor…

bait

Perspectives, lights, lines, glass, stances…. love everything about it!

I am glad they gave us the little scene with Reba and Will in the hospital. It was good to see she is resilient and will make it through and also good to see Will empathise and provide support. We’ve almost only seen him chase or interact with the bad guys and it was nice to see this side of him.  Maybe that is the side of him Molly saw…. Too bad we saw it too late and I didn’t believe him when he promised Reba to come back and see her. And I felt really touched at what Will told Molly about Dolarhyde and her relationship with him, that he wasn’t a monster but a ‘man with a freak on his back’. It is what we felt all along about their relationship and I was happy in spite of the sad ending that Fuller decided to remind viewers of the value in that relationship (remember episode for fans and all that ;-)).

willbecomingmeat

‘Meat is back on the menu’ 😀

This is where we left the book behind and we were on completely new territory. We knew the ending would somehow belong to Will and Hannibal and I never thought Hannibal inside the asylum would be it. I’m glad they decided to bring Dolarhyde into the finale. I’m taking it as a massive compliment to Armitage and his acting talents (and I don’t think it is just the fan in me speaking, or the fan in Fuller for that matter 😉 He’s a fan alright but the critics have praised Armitage’s Dolarhyde from his first appearance so it was not just the nice thing to do for fans but also the right thing to do for the series).

righteoustwitchyman

‘righteous twitchy little man’ and again those camera angles and shots to die for!

Also, while the last episode put me at odds with Will this one managed to reconciled me back again. Yes, it’s probably because they gave me enough sugar coating to swallow the bitter pill. I enjoyed the strength he managed to summon up, first to snub Hannibal when he thought a resolution had been reached and then to go back and really end it when it became obvious not taking action was no longer an option.

please2

Will says .. please

I’m slightly frustrated Alana got away, I always much preferred her to Chilton, but I can’t imagine her still being interesting or putting up a fight as character after a fire. At least we got to see Margot and the kid 🙂 I still think Margot had the better clothes, she always did! (Speaking of which I am prepared to forgive them that white number Hannibal wore in the church because they put him in some really nice clothes at the end).

goingmyway

want a ride? (doesn’t he looks just innocent sometimes?)

Bedelia’s anger and angst was quite funny, especially with Will dismissing it. Ah, how mean and petty of her to call him a twitchy little man 😀 And only after Will revealed he will be instrumental to Hannibal’s mock escape. I almost think there is more jealousy in her reaction than fear. Will telling her in that ironic voice ‘meat’s back on the menu’ was great! Some of the best lines in the show.

themoon

Let’s not forget the moon (what else are you looking at? tsk tsk tsk)

Speaking of lines, I’m actually not sure about Hannibal making reference to ‘mic drop’… Not that it didn’t fit the situation, but it doesn’t sound like something the smooth doctor would say. But he did say ‘he thought they called it a mic drop’ rather than owning the phrase.

cantsavemyself

cheekbones 🙂 and those looks in his eyes

It was quite a sad interchange between Will and H, as quite of few of them have been. Even though H succeeded in wounding him again through his family I did feel throughout the series that H was loosing ground with Will. Which is why H’s baits have been getting more aggressive as of late. I think when he turned himself in he was so sure of Will he thought he would always have him there. But Will has grown stronger and has overcome some of the trauma from the past and he is not quite so dependent on Hannibal as before, probably more dependent on his darker instincts than on Hannibal (to a point). He took quite some perverse pleasure in pointing out Hannibal would have been there had Will not rejected him first… outch! I almost felt sorry when Hannibal asked if it had been good to see him again. Unrequited love can be quite painful as both Hannibal and Bedelia seem to have found out. Twitchy little Will, eh? Who knew his tender charms could have them all so dependent on him, in different ways, but still. I did see the charm myself though, especially this episode.

layhislifeforfriend

‘I don’t know if i can save myself’

I felt from the point where Dolarhyde first catches him that all 3, D, Will and H were equals. And not only that but tied through weird and dark similarities. They really made for a strange sort of threesome. Each with their own weakness and insanity. None weaker than the other two, all intelligent but sadly broken, all needed something from the others and being incapable of breaking free. All on the search of some kind of freedom and staying trapped.

suicideenemy

all that play with perspectives… and light

I think each one is searching for an ending or senses the ending near, each thinking that the death of the other 2 would liberate him somehow. I think even Will considers of knows this ‘out’ but is secretly hoping Dolarhyde will take the decision out of his hands. It is why, unlike with everyone else, these is no fear in any of them. Why Will is neither very surprised to find Dolarhyde in front of him, nor surprised to be alive. And there is an undeniable attractiveness to all 3 characters when in these final acts they are each so self-assured. I am sure Jack knows Will is lying but this is not the Will that can be intimidated.

nolongeralone

Dolarhyde, finally not alone

Dolarhyde on the other hand wants to meet Lecter, I don’t think out of admiration. In all his insanity he is intelligent enough to have realised by now that Lecter has played him and that he has probably lost Reba due to the way Lecter baited the dragon and he probably thinks he can kill the dragon by killing Lecter. I am not sure he realises he is on the path of killing himself too, but it is quite possible he thinks of himself being changed rather than dead… As he himself admits, trusting Reba with some of the truth has liberated him in some way, he doesn’t feel he needs to hide any part of him anymore. This confidence and determination make him stand tall and appear more physically imposing than ever before. (Strange how there is a change in Will’s physicality as well, even he seems a notch taller than before and his posture certainly exudes more inner strength than before).

waitingforwill

Hannibal wounded waits for Will to act

Some, like Will and Dolarhyde have come to decisions more instinctively than consciously and some like Hannibal have been plotting all along. I feel Hannibal too has accepted the possibility of his own death, the temporary freedom only means something to him because it brings Will back not because of freedom per se. There is an almost a shrugging off attitude he has to his own death, evident when he speaks about the sea eroding his shore and the place disappearing soon, just as he thinks he will.

dragoncantwin

the Dragon’s last flutter…

It is why he is waiting patiently and almost excitedly for the Red Dragon to catch up with them, because he expects Will to step up to the plate so to speak. He expects something from Will which he has been waiting for all along.

I don’t think I quite realised that the first time around, it was just all overwhelming, but it became clear when he dropped to the floor shot with Dolarhyde talking about changing him and the look in his eyes as he was watching Will. Dolarhyde was almost of no consequence to him in the situation, it was all about what Will would do.

fire1

The man behind Dolarhyde. the one who managed to save Reba in the end, finally Fuller bathes his face in golden light so we can see all its beauty

In this weird world of theirs blood and death and killing people is how these broken men express their admiration, their love if you will. In spite our eyes taking in all the blood spatter and the body count growing in their path the undeniable feeling about it is one of romanticism.

fire2

Dolarhyde burns the dragon… what an incredibly beautiful image and silhouette

It is a good thing Will has enough sanity and connection to reality left to end it 😉 Meat may be back on the menu, but it really has to be to be a one off banquet.

And given how this world is upside down it couldn’t be clearer what the whole blood fest stands for. It is probably not how the fans wrote it in fanfic, but the feeling certainly was there. And the visuals were as much a feast for the eyes as possible. Each character was dressed perfectly for who they are but the best version of themselves. I couldn’t find fault in a dragon all in black, including a black leather jacket, in Will’s finally form fitting tailored trousers and white shirt and in H’s suits and elegant dark grey form fitting top. Thankfully no silly ties or suits in sight. I mean , let’s be really honest here, they couldn’t have shown more clearly how good looking all 3 are if they tried 🙂 There was at least 1 instance each where I smiled shaking my head at Fuller, but smiling in agreement nevertheless. I’ll freely admit Mads holding a glass of wine, with much shorter hair and smiling ever so slightly (looking nothing like a killer would thankfully) looked stunning too, in that instance I really got the appeal. So yeah, I didn’t mind those 3 men in one room at the same time at all 🙂

dragonend

Redemption for Dolarhyde? finally free of the dragon…

I was really sad Dolarhyde became the sacrificial lamb in a way, but while for H it was all about Will’s reaction I think for Will it quickly became obvious that D was physically capable of overpowering any of them 2. That was not how he had started this plan and it is something he couldn’t allow. And I think also when it came down to it although he said he would watch Dolarhyde kill Hannibal he couldn’t quite do it. While they other 2 killers may have been driven by their insanity I think Will make the only possible conscious choice, choice undoubtable allowed by his own darker instincts. This is probably the only he was able to do it, indulge.. how did Bedelia put it.. an extreme sense of compassion, because in that instance it was also the right decision to make for the only possible viable outcome. He could simply not let the dragon survive and the only way to prevent that was for him and H to act together.

As horrible as the killing actually was (agrr, bloody Hannibal and his bites) the choreography was beautiful and it managed to stay just shy of animalistic and just appalling. But at the same time show what each of them are, Dolarhyde just a man, just as Will in a way, and Hannibal something so much more unhinged and unnatural. There was an eerie beauty in the image of Dolarhyde splayed on the tiles with the blood fanning around him like wings, his blue eyes standing out. Interesting that they left his face untouched 🙂 And didn’t destroy the frame either with too much cut flesh showing or anything else that would make the image disgusting. Also, although bathed in quite a bit of blood the darkness kept it from being too revolting both on Will and Hannibal. Their eyes and foreheads and hair remained largely untouched and again the injuries remained hidden.

embrace1

It’s all Hannibal ever wanted for them…

(Compare this to what was done to Verger and to poor Chilton…. Nothing really to mar these 3 in these final moments).

I can’t say I am completely surprised by the end. As I was watching it for the first time I was actually expecting Will and H to kill each other, stabbing or something. The way it actually happened was poetic in comparison. I fully expected H to say what he did, that this is what he had wanted all along, he’s been pining for Will to become his ‘partner in crime’ for a really long time. I am not sure I like ‘my’ Will to go for it and say  ‘it was beautiful’. I admit I found it shocking when I first heard it, just because I never really wanted to have the admission of Will’s darker side (just like I mentally erase the fact that Dolarhyde has killed families before meeting Reba). But given his next gesture it made sense, this is the only was he would be able to admit to it, if while admitting he also puts an end to it. It is what keeps Will human, he knows it is wrong and can’t actually live with it.

willdecides

Will decides

Fuller has left it sort of open with the scene added and I guess this could be explored further but for me it is the satisfactory and right end. I need Will to remain on the positive side of the story. While the attraction and game might be interesting with all the ‘what ifs’ I couldn’t actually handle them as a pair of killers.

But Will and Hannibal in a light embrace dropping off the edge off the cliff into the dark sea… yeah that had a sort of beauty to it. The song sung by Siouxsie was the perfect soundtrack to this. I felt all my buttons being pushed in that scene, from beginning to end and I enjoyed it. I still feel sorry for Reba, but however much I wanted Dolarhyde redeemed I can’t wish a serial killer on her, there was truly only one way to redeem him.

Maybe it was all sorts of cheesy and obvious and indulgent, but why not, it was the end after all.

Well played Mr Fuller, I’m happy with that.

jump

Goodbye…

PS As an aside, I need to look at least for curiosity’s sake at  how H did here in the UK in viewing figures; it is prominent on Sky and it has always been on the channel promos/images between the shows and it has been this way for the last 2 seasons at least.

16 thoughts on “Threesome

  1. Fabulous review, Hari. I am glad you pushed yourself to write it up, despite the stressful time at work. It was great for me to read your review of the show as a whole, and I found it interesting that you come away with a rather positive overall opinion, despite a good few criticisms along the way.
    I’m intrigued – when did you feel sorry for Hannibal?
    Agree with you on the lighting – it was very interesting, and I really am a sucker for shades and faces left half in darkness. Mind you, like so many others I felt that it was a pity that everything was always half-lit. I am sure that some stuff was lost because of it. And even though the lighting was so characteristic, you could call it a “style”, I found it a bit lame after a while, and I would’ve preferred a bit of variety. After all, in RL, we do not always observe people half-lit. Even inside or at night we see people more clearly, lit properly with lamps and lights.
    Good point about the little conversation between Will and Reba in the hospital – “man with a freak on his back” – Fuller subtly reinforcing the belief in good, reminding us that Dolarhyde is a poor devil, and that the relationship between Dolarhyde and Reba had some value.
    As for bringing Dolarhyde into the finale – well, it was of course great that Armitage was given the “honour” of being there until nearly the end. But somehow I doubt that it was done as a nod to Armitage himself. Surely, the writers must have decided on a general course from the beginning. It just made sense to bring the story to a close with a massive showdown, and if they wanted Will and Hannibal to ride into the sunset together, they needed some sort of climax to force the two into each other’s arms. Which meant that there was only Dolarhyde as an option. That makes the nod to Armitage incidental. Mind you, the result is the same for us – we had the pleasure of seeing the fight with Dolarhyde as the highpoint of the season. It’s great that Armitage was part of that.
    I absolutely loved the fire images, too – that shot of Dolarhyde silhouette against the burning attic, fabulous. (Although I had visions of Sauron there, but well…Also, my heart ached when I saw the props burn – those fabulous scrap books no no no. And I had been wondering whether RA had been able to snag that as a souvenir from the set…) As was the image of the blood seeping from Dolarhyde to create the dragon wings. The fight itself, on the other hand, I did not see anything beautiful in. Ok, there was a certain amount of aestheticism in the way the blood shone like jet stone in the moonlight, and how it splattered from the wounds, but balletic I did not find this. Which is a shame, because as a commenter pointed out somewhere, there were 2 dancers involved in this scene, why not make use of their training. The whole thing could’ve been choreographed in a much more stylized way, I think, and since it was a fight of two against one, there would’ve been ample opportunity for beautiful, symmetrical movement. But well, what do I know…

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am glad i pushed through the tiredness, i really wanted to say things, and the overall feeling of positivity especially. I felt very satisfied about it in a good way. I thought it was interesting, challenging, beautiful, original, dark and strangely melancholic and romantic. It comes i think with Fuller’s own biases but bottom line for me it was good with the great stuff outweighing the criticism by quite a bit. It has been an interesting experience. I am not a total fan but i did enjoy watching, all 3 seasons of it. I just feel the need to re watch, nor do i feel the need for it to continue, nor do i feel sorry for the characters death either. It is a fitting end and end it must. What i will miss is the originality, the aesthetic values and the technical brilliance, not the characters themselves, i think those have run their course.
      Oh , i felt sorry for H a few times in s3. Do you know he actually saved Will’s life? Yes he tried to take a bite himself a few times but once was because Will actually betrayed him 😉 And when it came down to it and Will’s life was really in danger he did save him. Seeing him alone in the room stripped bare and Alana gloating made me feel sorry for him. Also because i despised her, easy for her to be smug when he is in a glass cage, not so much if he were free, ehem.
      And he loved Will, in his twisted ways but deeply and he was very much dependent on him, the constant questions about their interchanges being interesting, seeing him being good and so on. He was desperate for Will’s attention and Will took pleasure in rebuffing him, more than once. The last one i thought was quite a stab. Of course he deserves all that and more 🙂 But so does Dolarhyde tbh. But that kind of emotional dependency and pain makes me feel sorry 🙂 Ultimately he needed Will much more than Will ever was tempted by him.
      It is why i feel much more sorry for Reba than Dolarhyde, she put herself out there, she loved him unreservedly. And ultimately he was not quite capable of love. Sadly because he was broken but although he let her live and made sure she survived, the whole becoming was too important to him, the freak was stronger than the man. The way he played her in the end was very hard to watch.
      I didn’t mind the darkness, i thought in the end i could actually see everything really well. It is just one of those things, part of the series. While i criticise or disagree with things i find generally i am really good at accepting things as they are, it happens on stage too. I rarely really feel the need to change things from the way they are presented, Maybe i am just a passive watcher but for me it is what it is or what the creators have decided to make it, if i find it interesting i’ll watch it, as is, with no need to change it. i think it is one of the reasons why i have watched this for 3 seasons although i am neither into horror, nor into gore. I accepted the universe they created as is. It may be uncomfortable, often, but it wasn’t all that offensive overall. I’ve seen stuff on stage that i have been way more offended by. The only thing that will make me walk away is boredom. Otherwise i’ll always give them a chance to play it out as they see it and just sit there and make up my mind about it. It is more interesting to try and understand why they made certain choices then judge them on them, if it makes sense.
      I agree they had a story line plotted out 🙂 And that they thought they could tie it all up neatly for the end. However, in practice the reality is that the script only gets finalised maybe 2-3 eps in advance. With their shooting schedule and Fuller being a big part of it the timelines were likely even more squeezed. So there certainly were ideas but the details only got worked out later. Ie Armitage and his take on things and his interpretation certainly played a big role in how the finale actually looked like.
      I haven’t had a chance to read anything yet but i understand there was a view of how he should move in that last scene, need to read up. Who was the 2nd dancer?? Now i am intrigued, Mads or Hugh???
      And no, i didn;t think it was balletic, but i think that would have taken things a bit too far even for this series! I mean the whole thing was only a bit like the usual stuff but it was actually very afar away from the chop and dice approach Hannibal usually has 😉 Had you seen the season 2 finale you’d think this almost mellow, it was a fight scene as well but much more brutal and gory. There is stabbing and there is stabbing. Weird as it may sound. And believe me it playing out in the darkness of the night was also a better choice, in season 2 the showdown with Will, H and Jack (+Alana and Abigail) played out in light in Hannibal’s apartment. Well choreographed but much more brutal in gestures.
      I already smiled indulgently when Will and H exchanged looks and hugged and all that, it stepped over the limits of the show actually. I actually giggled at some of the dialogue (particularly the ‘was it good to see me’ stuff and ‘think of me when things get boring’.. i thought a bit too much fan fic 😉 ). Anything more in that scene, synced movements would have pushed it too far. The reason this has stayed valid and believable is because it never quite got mellow or sweet, it stayed clear of tenderness and any huggy kissy stuff. Even with Reba and D they stayed on the realistic side of things i thought. They would have completely lost credibility otherwise is people starting kissing and holding hands and this kind of stuff. I am not sure i am explaining well what i mean, they drew a line between artsy look and artsy stuff on the show. It was ok for it to look classy and elegant but it couldn’t become art, it had to stay a crime/gore/horror show.
      As to souvenirs.. hm, i don’t feel he’ll need a physical reminder of this, i doubt he’ll ever be able to forget it. I think he’s more likely to not want any piece of it with him in real life. Just my opinion, also based on the fact that i think he mentioned he’s not actually watched the ep yet? I feel he valued the full immersion and experience but it was satisfying enough to not want to go back and hold on to it.
      Frankly i feel the same way, i don’t feel desperate to go back an rewatch, none of it. I also don’t feel the need to change it, romanticise it. I don’t cry after Dolarhyde. I think it was an amazing creation and i am very pleased i watched it. It has set the bar incredibly high and i hope we will get roles from him, hopefully less dark, dark will be as challenging and as interesting to watch, but it will be hard. It was an interesting journey to take, but it had to end, i feel satisfied it ended the way it did, it fitted what i felt needed to happen and it felt ‘right’. I am not sure that i personally would have a lot more to gain by revisiting the world of the criminally insane all too many times 😉

      Like

        • Oh thank you! I had a a strong suspicion it was him 🙂 Stance and elegance and all that 🙂 This explains some things i have been wondering about since the end of season 2. Hugh is elegant in his own way but he stands like a bloke 😉 There is always a subtle difference in anyone who has had movement training or has danced professionally for a long time, certain things become just coded into your body. Now of course i have to go on the look out for videos of Mads dancing! 🙂

          Like

  2. I had a hard time getting motivated to start my post about the finale, as well… though I didn’t have a work excuse, just a “depressed it’s over” excuse. Great review. I’m like you… I loved the plunge together off the cliff, thought it was a perfect ending, romantic in its way, leaving that spark of possibility for more to come, but works beautifully as a finale piece if that’s all we ever get. I wouldn’t want to see Will and Hannibal hunting or dining on Bedelia together, either. I always knew Will had his own darkness to contend with, maybe even urges to resist, but I always wanted him to continue to resist the darkness and use his natural empathy in good ways. For him to take part in killing Dolarhyde was morally acceptable- Dolarhyde needed to be stopped, and was in fact in the process of attempted murder, so whether he found something beautiful in it or not, it was justifiable. Hunting for the sake of cannibalism is not! =) Wasn’t FD gorgeous in those final shots in firelight? Sigh. I’ll miss him.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Agree on Will, which is why i felt sorry he had to die, but again i felt it was right that he made that decision for himself rather than getting killed.
    I understand they had to do a last nod to the food artists but i was actually happy for once to almost be able to forget the cannibalism. My biggest fear apart from something happening to poor Reba was having Hannibal start to cook something up (and that something being Will!). When he stayed away from the kitchen i relaxed a bit and even allowed myself to like Mads in the end 😉
    I am not sure i’ll miss Dolarhyde, well actually i know i won’t. I felt more sorry for Will dying than H or D, it had to end like that for both of them and it was a much better end than they both deserved or could have had really. Will could have had a life… sigh.
    What i will miss though is watching Armitage act his pants off! And i don’t actually mean that literally at all. The wait until the next great role will be hard. This was lucky 2 years, last year Proctor, this year D… wonder if we will get this lucky again.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Du hast narürlich Recht: auf der Openbühne ist auch mächtig viel Mord und Todschlag unterwegs. Das gleiche übrigens auch in der Welt der Märchen. Ist es nich unfassbar, was da schon kleinen Kindern an Stoffen zugemutet wird? Und interessanterweise habe ich eher selten davon gehört, dass sie irgendwie traumatisiert davon wurden. Die Vorstellung alleine produziert nämlich noch nicht den totalen Horror, sondern die realen Bilder. Aber ich stimme dir zu, die Bilder hier waren bis auf 1-2 Ausnahmen nicht halb so schlimm, wie ich befürchtet hatte. Ach so, tolle Review übrigens 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Danke, lieb von dir 🙂 und ja wenn man zuruckdenkt ist schon seltsam wie fruh wir mit Horror konfrontiert werden….. man fragt sich manchmal was ist es mit Menschen dass sie manchmal die Angst geniessen konne? Schauder… Aber ich glaube es hat alles damit zu tun, mit der Fantasie, wie du auch sagst. Soweit wir uns sagen konnen alles ist nur in der Vorstellung und nicht real ist es ok sich sowas anzuschauen oder als Geschichte zu akzeptieren. Oft muss es aber nicht sein 😉

      Like

  5. It does seem like romanticism taken to extremes, which probably describes all the best examples of the horror genre. I love the shot of FD’s silhouette in the flames. PS cheshire cheese and plum tomatoes and toast and chocolate and peanut butter and tea… yum 🙂 I’m glad you were able to eat whilst watching this episode, LOL!

    Liked by 1 person

    • yes i the charm of this strange romanticism 🙂 Maybe because i’ve always loved fantastical stories, i like sci-fi, i still like story tales and watched them in movies. I enjoy escaping into strange worlds. This was scary sometimes but it was more icky than scary. I guess because i watched so much of it my threshold changed as well. In season 2 i thought i couldn’t eat anywhere near it, but it was mostly because of the cooking. I love food and eat a lot of varied things but the fact that there was always the suspicion of human bits in it… I was mostly vegetarian throughout the series LOL Which is a good thing anyway 🙂 Blood for example never makes it yuck for me. Because there was little cooking in this one i enjoyed my dinners with it 😉 It may sound cold but stabbings and blood don’t turn my stomach, i’ve seen far too many crime dramas for it 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • I appreciate the appeal of the romantic (Wuthering Heights!), but I always seem to gravitate toward lighter content, which is also easier on the tummy 🙂 Though forensic type shows don’t bother me as much as ones that show the actual killings.

        Liked by 1 person

        • This wasn’t my usual fare at all and i suspect back in s1 had it not been for Hugh Dancy/Will being the very vulnerable hero i would have probably not stuck with it. But i can’t resist the underdog and tortured ones and he played him very well. It is what kept me watching until s3 and the whole look of it. I kept wanting to know what will happen next to or with Will. Glad i stuck it out in S3, but i would have watched that anyway. My doubts about watching were if i could take R playing somebody so evil and mentally i just didn’t want to see him doing these things. But my fears were unfounded. It was absolutely fascinating to watch and i had no trouble sometimes feeling sorry for him but ultimately disliking the character or hating him at times or being scared. I have no problem thinking death was what needed to come to him. And at the same time feeling sorry he was so broken. I enjoyed watching him act it tremendously 🙂 Which is good as who knows what stuff he will do next and mentally few things will be more challenging to accept than this one. I like seeing or experiencing things that end of changing my mind 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • Yes. I used to avoid any entertainment that might upset me or challenge my thinking, but being a fan has cured me of that 🙂 Except that I still haven’t watched “The Cook, the Thief, His Wife and Her Lover.” Don’t know if I’ll ever make up my mind to see that one. It has some of the same elements as Hannibal.

          Like

  6. Großartige review Hari, Danke für die ausführliche Darstellung und das obwohl Du soviel Stress hast! Insgesamt hast Du recht, es wird immer mehr Blut und Massaker egal ob auf Bühne oder im Film, genauso wie bei der Action – immer höher, immer spektakulärer – auch wenn ich denke, für die Plot-Spannung ist das nicht unbedingt wichtig (denken wir mal an Hitchcock), oder ist es so, dass der Zuschauer das Blut und den Horror inzwischen braucht? Keine Ahnung! Albträume hat Hannibal bei mir keine verursacht, aber man muss ja auch nicht unbedingt überall detailliert hinsehen 🙂 Das offene Ende läst den Produzenten alle Möglichkeiten vielleicht ja doch noch irgendwann die Serie weiter zu führen, falls die Nachfrage wieder aufleben sollte 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Danke sehr, eins kann man der Serie lassen, man konnte viel druber nachdenken und analysieren 🙂 Ist auch nicht schlecht.
      Oh, ich weiss nicht ob wir mehr Horror brauchen, ich denke trotz allem war die Serie doch nur Nische. Denn andererseist gibt es immer mehr Fanatasyfilme, Superhero Filme, es scheint doch zu sein dass die Leute nach irgendwelchen Idealen suchen, nach dem Guten, in einer Welt entfliehen wollen wo alles doch noch in Ordnung sein wird. Ich kann das irgendwie schlecht beurteilen weil hier alles nicht ganz so voller Gewalt ist, im Fernsehen auf keinen Fall, ich glaube die Zeit der totalen Gewalt in den Filmen sit vorbei, es war halt cool fur eine Zeit aber die Leute wollen offensichtlich doch lieber entfliehen als die News auch noch im Kino sehen 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ja, ich glaube die Menschen driften gerne in ihre Fantasien ab, ich nehme mich nicht davon aus. Natürlich suchen wir nach Idealen und der heilen Welt, ich rede jetzt nicht von hannibal ;-), wie auch immer die aussieht. Das dürfte auch den Erfolg von Herr der Ringe oder dem Hobbit erklären, eine Welt in der man Held sein kann, mit gut aussehenden Männern und bewundernswerten Frauen ❤

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

