Love of the Highlands

image

Urquhart castle on Loch Ness in the rain

Urquhart castle on Loch Ness in the rain

I feel like i have travelled through time and history. … my mind is full of Stewarts, clans, standing stones and grave stones, legends and life stories,  music, plaids, broadswords, castles and struggles…
I’ve been at Culloden today and it’s a site of so much sorrow.. not only for the deaths that happened here but also for the consequences which have rippled through time. I’ve not been on a battle field before. ..
And yet you are always surrounded by so much beauty…

image

Loch Ness

Badly taken with a tired hand on mobile phone..
Tomorrow the long two part journey home begins via Edinburgh again.
I feel incredibly sad for having to leave. …

7 thoughts on “Love of the Highlands

  1. Since I was a girl, I’ve always wanted to visit Loch Ness. I think I was as entranced by the ruined castle as the monster. Gorgeous photos!
    And yes, I did not know much about Culloden until I read the account in the “Outlander” series. It must be very moving to see the place.

    Liked by 1 person

    • it is incredibly so, one of the tours we did was an ‘Outlander’ tour of sorts, you get to visit places she picked on and she actually never saw until the books were out. The tour was well tailored, you could be a fan or not or more like me and my friend, interested in the history. We walked the field and he explained the battle and the aftermath all movements, what it would have been like, how people fought and how it ended, i don’t think i will ever be able to forget it. I can’t recommend the highlands enough tbh, but i am very biased, i’ve always felt strangely at home in Scotland.

      Like

Leave a Reply

